Lab 9 - Resolution fix

UNIX/Linux Network Administration - Rich Simms
Locked
User avatar
RobertSaenzJr
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:57 pm

Lab 9 - Resolution fix

Post by RobertSaenzJr » Mon May 10, 2010 4:59 pm

Here are instructions for getting X to run after the resolution change if all else fails, which it probably will. Rich and another student figured this out. Don't forget that your network settings will be reset after running vmware-config-tools.pl.
Just go down the list.

Code: Select all

1. startx
2. vmware-config-tools.pl
3. logged out (x session ended)
4. startx (broken)
5. Add to end of /etc/X11/xorg.conf
	Section "Monitor"
	Identifier "vmware"
	EndSection
6. startx
7. vmware-config-tools.pl	
8. logged out (x session ended)
9. startx

jjesuz
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:53 pm

Re: Lab 9 - Resolution fix

Post by jjesuz » Mon May 10, 2010 8:03 pm

I think you can start at step 5, skip 6 and 8.

5. Add to end of /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "vmware"
EndSection
7. vmware-config-tools.pl
9. startx

Jesse Unruh
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:50 pm

Re: Lab 9 - Resolution fix

Post by Jesse Unruh » Wed May 12, 2010 6:13 pm

That worked.

Thanks. :)

Kay Lee
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Lab 9 - Resolution fix

Post by Kay Lee » Thu May 13, 2010 7:52 pm

This information helped me a lot to do lab9, thx Robert !! :D

User avatar
RobertSaenzJr
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Lab 9 - Resolution fix

Post by RobertSaenzJr » Thu May 27, 2010 10:59 pm

No problem. They could be re-written though. And maybe explained a little bit better.

Locked

Return to “CIS 192AB - Spring 2010”